Marathon Training and Discussions

Wanting to "race" this time, but... (Read 600 times)

Queen of 3rd Place

January 17 (Phoenix RNR), then March 21 (LA). I will be running LA alone, and would like to push myself a little bit this time rather than just finish/hang with my pals.

Background and disclosure: LA is only marathon #4. I have zero experience racing at any distance, I've run every race like a fun run, at easy pace or maybe a touch faster. I also have essentially zero experience with speedwork.

My average this year is just shy of 40 mpw, usually with a 10 - 12 mi weekly long run and some kind of mid-week sorta-long run. Working up to the marathon I do a pretty standard ratcheting up long runs: 14 - 12 - 16 - 12 - 18 - 12 - 20 - 12 - 20 - 12 -  then 2 week taper, with weekly mileage getting into the 60s this time around.  Easy pace at the moment is 10 - 10:30/mi most days.

I plan to take it easy in Phoenix, which is around 4:30 for me based on my last marathon.

OK, Questions: Is it dumb to think I can push myself at LA, only 9 weeks after Phoenix?

If the consensus is to go for it, any words of advice on training and racing?

Would it be exceptionally stupid to hook up with the 4:00 pace group in LA? The chicken part of me says start with the 4:15 group and see how it goes.

Ex runner

Hawt and sexy

I just have time for a drive by right now, but when my easy pace is hitting 10mm, I can BQ.  That's a 3:45.  And 9 weeks is plenty of time to recover from a 26.2 mile long run.

What part of training do you want to look into changing?  Speed?  Distance?

I'm touching your pants.

jpnairn

straw man

The 9 weeks is plenty of time.

To do the 4 hour marathon, get in some 9 minute/mile runs. I think you can do it, no problem, but you need to get used to that pace ahead of time. So far, it doesn't look like you've done that at all.

If the 9 minute pace feels tough for you a few weeks after Phoenix, then you can think about the 4:15 pace group.