Marathon Race Training

Pace Advice for an upcoming marathon (Read 53 times)

Arvind Balaraman

1) What are your recent shorter-distance race times? 

Ran 9 halfs this year

Jan  - 1:30

March - 1:32

April - 1:30

May - 1:30 and 1:34 (trail)

June - 1:33

July  - 1:36 (In Indian summer)

Sept - 1:32, 1:32

2) What's your average mileage per week?

I have been averaging 54-55 miles per week for the entire year 2017. In the last 12 weeks I have run 640 miles at an average of  53 miles per week

2.1) What training program (if any) are you using?

I am following a simple training progam

Monday - Easy run 6-8 miles at 8:00 min per mile

Tuesday - Hill repeats

Wednesday - 5 on the treadmill at 8:00 min per mile

Thursday - Tempo run 1/2 of the LSD of that week

Friday - Rest

Saturday - LSD (16-22) miles

Sunday  - 10 miles on the trail

In the first 12 weeks I have run 2 20 milers, 1 18 miler and rest in the 16 range

I have 2 more 20 milers and 1 18 miler left in my plan

3) When is your race, and which one is it? 

My Marathon is on Nov 11, Richmond

4) How long have you been running? 

I have been running since 2012.

4.1) How many marathons have you run, and what were your times?

I have run 2 marathons till now 2014 and 2014 with times 4:02 and 4:09

5) What is your age and gender? 

Age 45 Male

6) What pace do you run your long runs? 

Long runs are in the 8:15 to 8:30 pace range

7) What is your goal?

Goal is BQ (which is 3:25). I want to do a 3:15 

Mr MattM

I'm gonna be blunt.  Your peak weekly mileage is only in the 50s and your overall average is probably in the 40s.  You're running pretty much everything too fast.  You're half marathon times don't show any improvement.

All things considered, you might run a 3:25 if everything goes perfect but I'm thinking 3:30-3:35 is more likely (assuming you don't completely crash).

be curious; not judgmental

ilanarama

Pace Prophet