Masters Running

Seattle R&R First Marathon Book! (Read 330 times)

TammyinGP

yes, it's a book, not just a report. . . . please skip to the end if you just want the hard facts.

Inaugural Seattle Rock & Roll Marathon.

When a group of friends at KR/RA decided to meet up in Seattle for this Inaugural Marathon, I was thinking I would just do the Half, as I did not want to run a summer marathon.  The long training runs would have put me into a very warm part of the spring in Southern Oregon and I didn’t think I would do very well with that.  But in about November 2008, I decided to go ahead and commit to a marathon, even though I was partially injured at that point and not running much. What better time to register for a marathon, then when you are injured, right?

This was my second attempt at a marathon.  I started training in the spring 2008 but suffered an injury about 2/3 of the way through the training for Eugene 2008.  I chose a conservative running program to follow, Higdon’s Novice Plan, and made a few adjustments here and there to accommodate my schedule.  Overall, I got in the miles, some weeks a little more, some a little less, but I think I still stuck to the plan fairly well.  Everything seemed to line up for me as local races nicely coincided with whatever distance my long run was on a given weekend. And my training went well. Each long run went fairly smooth, the weather always seemed to cooperate with me, and most importantly, I wasn’t suffering any injuries as my distance increased. I had also met a great friend and running partner, Laura, and we were both in the same boat – training for a first marathon and even able to coordinate our schedules so we could run our long runs together.  I was happy and was feeling very confident as I finished up my peak week of 40 miles, including the 20 miler.