Masters Running

Race Reports for the week of July 14-15 (Read 22 times)

Mariposai

It seems like Catwhoorg will be representing us in the racing world this weekend.

Good luck!!! We can't wait to read your race report Smile

07/15 catwhoorg - Summer Steamer 5K Kennesaw GA,

"Champions are everywhereall you need is to train them properly..." ~Arthur Lydiard

Mike E

MM #5615

I did a race today...actually two.  The Golden Lake Gallop 4 Miler and the Golden Lake Gallop 2 miler.  They, also had a 1/2 mile race for the kids, but they did not let participate in that one.  These are all fundraisers for the high school cross country team.  We had an okay turnout...we never have very many.

I have been doing this race for many years...I was going to say, "before Ryan was born," but he's going to be 27 in October and I can't believe it's been that long...but maybe it has.  Anyway, except for the high school's all-time top runner, I used to go and kick the high school kids' butts....it always felt so good.  Then 12 years ago, the new assistant cross country coach started running it and I could tell that it always bothered him that he couldn't beat me.  In fact, he stopped doing it for a few years because he had to, "help with the race."  We are pretty good friends and we have raced against each other in a few other races over the years--including a duathlon--and he has never beaten me.  Well, this year, he knows I have not been running well.  In fact, we went for a run last Saturday and he saw how much I'm struggling, right now.  Now, to his credit, he has been working out pretty hard, lately, because he and his wife have gotten really big into the Spartan races.  So, today--he raced it....and I could tell from the very beginning that his goal was to beat me.