Masters Running

Leftovers Friday, 11.29.19 (Read 41 times)

Yeah, I'm an engineer too...wonder if the bird was more dense?  Or not fully thawed?  Or if the space-time continuum had warped causing thermodynamic imbalance around the gizzard ligaments?? 

I'm kinda intrigued by the Black Friday repeat of the Turkey Trot event...I look at things from an RD's perspective and that means a second early morning, second set up, second set of volunteers, a second cold morning.   Any idea how many they have for the second event? 

Joe, with all of what they're feeding poultry and livestock these days (how do the get those HUGE chicken breasts?), I was also wondering if the composition of the meat has changed. We suspected a thawing problem last year, so made sure it was thoroughly thawed this time.

On the back-to-back events, the RD runs this as a business and is herself quite an ultra-athlete -- runs trail ultras, tough mudders, and all that stuff. I've known her since she started doing this since she has a lawn-mowiing business in the summer and still does a couple houses in our neighborhood. Believe me, she is one tough cookie! From her Strava post, I saw that she pre-rode the course on both Thursday and today at 4AM on a bike -- cold and pitch black and bike headlights are not all that great. Her web site is moveit-fitness.com if you want to check it out. Looks like about 200 runners today or maybe 1/3 of yesterday's count.

KSA, that is absolutely horrible! I can't imagine the effect on the parents and other close relatives.

Doug, runnin' cycling in Rochester, MI

"Think blue, count two, and look for a red shoe"

Joe618

Doug, thanks...if the race is business, it all makes sense.   

Karen, oh my, that is just horrific.   So sorry to hear of this tragedy. 

________

I have nothing particularly clever or profound to add as a tag to each message...I just like to run.   

KSA - Horrible doesn't even begin to describe.  I can't imagine.