Masters Running

The Wednesday Daily, 9.19.12 (Read 392 times)

coastwalker

Mornin' all.

"Jay,  If you were in Skaneateles, you were on Skaneateles Lake....and it is a wonderfully charming little town...glad you enjoyed yourself." Liz is absolutely right. Cayuga Lake was where we had lunch at a vineyard on Sunday. 

We didn't get the worst of the storm that roared through northern New England last night, but still got a fair amount of rain and wind. However, by the time I headed out this morning (4:45 - I'm having a tough time getting back to the usual 4am wake-up), there was little wind, and just tree-drip and a gentle mist. It was quite warm (68F), but cooler by the water, where the breeze was picking up the cooler water temp. Because I was late, I went just a quick 3.4 racewalking miles.I had on my brand-spanking-new Mizuno Musha, and they felt great. But I've been wearing Mushas for the last 3 years, so I knew what to expect. That 68F will have been the high temp for today, as a cool front comes in later. There are freeze warnings for the northern part of the state for tonight - yikes!

I spent yesterday trying to catch up with what I missed for the few days we were away, and am still not there yet. So today's going to be another very busy day.

Enjoy!  -  Jay

Without ice cream there would be darkness and chaos.

If you haven't read WildChild's excellent race report do yourself a favor and do so.  I got a chuckle out of where she mentioned the town of "Buena Vista, Colorado, which is pronounced “Byoona Vista” by the locals, or “Byoonie” for short."

It's funny how people mispronounce some places oddly.  Here in South Florida there is a city that is pronounced "Boca Ra-Tone", not "Boca Ra-ton".  If you pronounce it that way we know you're either a snow bird or a "feraner".

And there is the Schuylkill River in Pennsylvania, which is locally pronounced the "Skoo-kull", not "Skoy-L-Kill" or "Sky-Kill" as I did once.  Once once.  Big grin