Masters Running

Faster Pace? (Read 441 times)

Run the race God set B4U

Hey everyone,

I have been lurking in here a while but not posted much, except on the main forums.  You guys are awesome and I am a little hesitant to post in here, I don't seem "worthy", anyway....If I posted this on the main forums I would get answers from 20 somethings that really would not apply to me...my question is...how do I work on getting faster?  I see all the articles on speedwork, do this, do that.....but I am overwhelmed with how exactly to start.  I do know that if I shed 15 lbs, that would help, correct?  I have been running for about 5 years, but not "faithfully".  My pace is 9:50-10:40 somewhere in there and no matter what I can't seem to speed up and stay that way, always fall back.  I am on my second week training for a relay marathon in March.  My goal is to run my 6.2 leg in under an hour.  Where do I start?  Thanks!

5K's (11), Half Marathon (1), Relay Marathon (1), 15K's (2)

Mr. Chip & Mizz Rizzo

HI Tina and Welcome!

I don't have any advice for you, but am interested in hearing what others have to say as I run about the same paces as you.   AND loosing weight would be a good benefit for me too.   ho-hum.....

The daily thread may seem intimidating but don't be shy to jump in.   We will get to know you as you get to know us.   Some you really have to watch out for .... dirty ole' men and all ..... but we are a good group.   Big grin

~Mary

"My sunshine doesn't come from the skies,
      It comes from the love in my dog's eyes."

~unknown

http:www.rawleypointkennel.com

wildchild

Carolyn

Welcome, Tina!  Speed is overrated   but looking at your log, you should probably work on increasing mileage and the speed will come.

I hammered down the trail, passing rocks and trees like they were standing still.

Marathon Maniac #957

I am a little hesitant to post in here, I don't seem "worthy",