RA Coaching Forum

Dustin's Training Journal (Read 541 times)

I just stumbled across this group and decided to join and start my own thread to get some feedback. A while back, I thought about creating a post in the general forum to get general advice about my training, but this forum seems like a much better place for that. Big grin I'm relatively new to running, I'll have one year of consistent running under my belt in May. I'm mainly training for 5Ks, with the occasional 10K, and maybe longer distances in the future. Right now I'm just trying to stay injury free and get my mileage up, with some speedwork thrown in here and there. I've done five 5Ks so far: 29:51 - 8/10/2007 26:09 - 9/8/2007 23:17 - 10/13/2007 22:08 - 2/23/2008 21:38 - 3/22/2008 I also ran a 10k back in November (49:57), and was injured following the race. I built my miles back up, and I've been trying to run 20+ miles a week, cutting back during race weeks, when I've got any kind of injury, etc. I'd like to get to 30+ miles a week soon. Eventually I'd like to follow a Daniel's type 5K plan, but I think getting my mileage up is more important right now. Anyways, looking forward to any feedback and advice that y'all have to give! 2008 Goals: Sub-20 5K Run 30-40+ miles consistently Run 1000-1500+ miles
      3/26/2008 Ran ~6.38 miles @ a 9:19 pace after work. Weather was decent but a little warm at 72 degrees. I wasn't sure how long I was going to run today since my ankle has been a little sore from a 5K this past Saturday. Felt good and started out way too fast, my first mile was something like a 8:40 pace and I had to force myself to slow down some after deciding it was going to be a long-ish run. It ended up being a pretty good run overall, besides all the damn walkers hogging the trail in the park. :P

That's a great progression in your 5k time in a pretty short time! Sometimes I miss being a new runner that can make gains like that that fast... Glad you found your way here. It's a fun group.