Running-Wizard

Running-wizard a reasonable plan for old timer? (Read 42 times)

northernman

Fight The Future

Hi Folks,

just stepping in to test the waters. Just finished running Boston this week, and looking for a new training plan to try out for my next marathon in early October. I've been running for about 6 years or so, and have logged about 14,500 miles in that time, so I already have a pretty solid base. No injuries to speak of. In the past, I have used Pfitzinger's plans and also some others. I do like to run lots of easy miles, with occasional hills (which I also like) and I'm OK with intervals (although I don't really like them all that much). I'd like to break through 3:20, which is only 2 minutes faster than my PR last year, but I can tell I'm rapidly decaying as I age, so will be hard. I'm wondering if the Running Wizard plan would be worth trying, or if it is designed primarily for relatively new runners. Lots of the talk seems to focus on building base and preventing injuries, neither of which is my primary problem right now. Thanks for any insights!

It's for all levels. When you sign up, you fill out a questionnaire about recent race times, your current longest run, how long you have been running, and it tailors the program to your ability. I know SubDood is in the middle of a marathon plan right now, if you want to log stalk Smile I'm training for a half, so can't comment specifically on the marathon plan. I will say I'm not a beginner - i've run probably 12 hm's- and find it exactly the right level of challenging.

JML