Running-Wizard

Need advice on building up to start of RW training plan (Read 49 times)

I've enjoyed lurking in this forum and learning more about how to use the RW plan I have for the Marine Corps Marathon.  I thought I'd be able to build my mileage up to the 30 ish miles per week in my plan but an old it band/piriformis/something has cropped up again.  I'd really like to be strong for the marathon and enjoy it so I've eased way back on running and am seeing a chiropractor in hopes of really healing it this time.  My hip is feeling better but yells at me when I run faster or longer than about 2.5-3 miles.

I've been running pretty steadily for the past 5 years including several half-marathons and one full back in 2008.  I finally participated in a local training group last summer and saw nice improvement in my half marathon time (from 2:10 in 2010 to 2:05 last year; the 2:10 hurt every step pretty much and the 2:05 felt great with minimal soreness after).  I tried the Maffetone LHR training over the winter, hoping that running at an easier pace would help to resolve my hip issues but it wasn't enough on it's own.

I'd appreciate thoughts and advice on how to build up or adjust the RW plan so that I can let my hip heal and still be ready for the Marathon.  I've finally accepted that just running with no cross training is not such a good idea for my body, so I've been riding my bike on the trainer. The chiropractor has given me several exercises to do every day, mostly glute strength and single leg balance stuff.  In a weird spin of karma, I won a month of boot camp after pooh-poohing such things for years.  The chiropractor ok'd the boot camp participation and the trainer for boot camp seems amenable to adjustments, etc.

My plan officially starts May 12 so adjusting the start of it is probably the first step. Adjusting my attitude to be ok with very little running when there's a plan out there waiting for me is the next.

Advice? Kind words? Suggestions?

Thanks!