Thyroid Q and A or Running Hot and Cold

Lab Work (Read 764 times)

I recieved my levels, they are: Total = 272 TG = 120 HDL = 70 LDL = 178 What does this all mean?
    Disclaimer: this is just my opinion...I am no expert! TG - triglycerides ? You didn't give the normal ranges...but on average, looks like your total cholesterol and your LDL are both in the high range...BUT, you have an awesome HDL level! It's not just your total cholesterol number that is important, it's also ratio of HDL to total cholesterol...yours is 3.88 based on those numbers, which puts you in a good range. Your TG is also in the normal range.... About the LDL, there is some controversy about whether or not all LDL is bad... info on cholesterol subclasses This is another good site re:cholesterol, but it is technical....the slide shows are pretty good. Lipids Online I would ask your doctor about the Cholesterol/HDL ratio. Since you say you have never had high numbers before and you are not enthusiastic about going on cholesterol meds, you might want to consider giving yourself 3 months......try to get your thyroid levels optimized, take a hard look at your diet/weight and make any changes you need to, then check levels again. If you do go on cholesterol meds, try to make the same changes if needed with thyroid, diet /weight, start on the lowest reasonable dose, and check frequently to make sure you are taking the lowest dose you need to. It's not necessarily a rest of your life situation if you do go on the meds, but you will probably need to be proactive about getting the lowest dose you need and working on getting off them as soon as possible. Good luck, and keep us posted with how you are doing.

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the number of moments that take our breath away...(unkown)

Go With The Flow
    Thyroid Support Group

Member Since 2008

Thanks Chenille
      mgerwn

Hold the Mayo