Trailer Trash

Falling Down (Read 22 times)

moonlightrunner

I have not been posting very consistently, but I am hoping I can get some advice from you all.

I have been running trails exclusively for many years, and for the last nearly 10 of them in minimalist footwear. I trip and fall A LOT, and it seems to be getting worse. I fall almost every time I run now. Toe breakers, face plants, elbow and shoulder bruisers. I run rocky, wooded trails...some technical areas but nothing extensively extreme.

This just does not seem normal. Do any of you fall in a regular basis? I am going to try and alter my gait and pick up my feet higher to see if that helps. I am an older runner, and I am not sure if decreased visual accuity may have a role. Most of what I trip and fall on are the very small and close to the ground little f ing stumps.

I have not yet broken any bones...but one of these days I suspect my nose may not get through a fall in one piece. The problem has eroded my confidence and any chance at regaining any speed at all.

January , 2022 Yankee Springs Winter Challenge 25k

Daydreamer1

I suspect that this is a area where everyone falls for different reasons.  I actually can't remember the last time I fell. I used to fall a lot. Mostly it was from catching my foot on something. My major problem has been ankle rolls. I think the reason I fall less now is because I'm only a good ankle roll or two away from surgery so I take it quite easy. It really has affected my speed.

I realized that most of my falls were coming from catching my left toe on something. I have a old back injury that left me with nerve damage in that  leg resulting in some slight foot drop.  Other than paying attention to lifting my feet more there wasn't much I could do to eliminate that.  I also try to work on my proprioception some. I do this by trying to balance on one leg as well as using a BOSU ball.