Trailer Trash

Tropical Mondaily (Read 16 times)

AT-runner

Tim

Looks like PA finally got summer weather.  Hot and humid for day #2.

Bugs and spider web season now.  I got pretty covered with webs yesterday and had to grab a stick for part of the run to break webs.

QOTD:  Bug remedies.  Lyme is really bad again in our area, and I just usually use OFF Bug Spray.  What does everyone else use, and is Lyme a problem in your areas?

“Paralysis-to-50k” training plan is underway! 

LB2

We had a little break in the mugginess about mid-week last week. Today, it was back in full force. Today was an SRD, but I got up and ran a 3.25 mile loop on some trail I did some work on yesterday.

QOTD: Supposedly, it isn't really bad down here, but I have a friend who said he had it. I am not completely convinced he had Lyme. I am no doctor, but I won't let that stop me from diagnosing people. I know some doctors, and that qualifies me. But seriously, I don't think it is a big deal down here.

As far as bug remedies, I don't really have much of a problem with mosquitoes. They normally don't bother me that much, but horseflies and deer flies drive me nuts. This stuff works well at keeping horseflies and deer flies off me:

http://www.cutterinsectrepellents.com/Products/Personal-Repellents/Cutter-Alternative-Solutions/Natural-Aerosol.aspx

DISCLAIMER: They do not market this as a horsefly repellent, but it really worked for me.

LB2

jonferg67

Endless trails

SRD today. The heat is creeping its way into NY, yesterday's run was manageable

but I could feel the humidity setting in.

QOTD: I've tried many remedies, to varying degrees of success. Lyme remains an

issue in our area, I don't take any precautions other than removing tics. Last year I

found one dug in and went to the clinic for the single dose of antibiotic.

Daydreamer1