Trailer Trash

Anybody know anything about mt bikes? (Read 27 times)

Gator eye

I'm looking at a Felt nine 60

Whats the good, bad and ugly low down on this thing. Is it worth the money for someone new to the sport?

I'm new to mt biking but have done some road peddling.

Any mt bike suggestions?

MadisonMandy

Refurbished Hip

It just depends on how much you're willing to spend.  What kind of trails do you want to ride?  How tall are you and what size wheels do you want?  29" will roll over rocks and roots better, but you're less agile and farther away from the ground.  26ers are kind of being phased out at this point, but 27.5" wheels are kind of the new happy medium.

Regarding the Felt, you can probably pick any bike at that price range and they're all going to be around the same thing: aluminum hardtail with okay components and a crappy fork.

If you have the money to spend, a friend once gave me the advice to buy a bike I would grow into.  So you need to decide how much you think you'll get into the sport.  If you do it and love it, you'll soon be itching for a more expensive and lighter bike than that Felt.

Do you have somewhere you can rent bikes from?  That can help with decisions too.

Running is dumb.

Daydreamer1

Mr Jangles is going to give it, and you, the evil eye unless you promise to ride slow enough to take him along .

To be honest I know very little about Mt bikes these days. The last one I bought was back about '99.  A 26" Raleigh hardtail that was good for it's time. I've been glancing at them again. Thinking about getting a fat bike. Supposedly they roll over almost anything.

DS got a 27.5" full suspension and the little bit I rode it I know that I can hop over rocks and roots a lot better then with my 26". I may try to rent a Fat bike this summer to see how I like it.