Trailer Trash

Sooooo Glad Its The Fridaily! (Read 16 times)

moonlightrunner

I can't sleep, so why not kick off Friday a bit early?

Yesterday I had a truly awesome run. 9 miles in at Fort Custer. It was cold, but the sun was out and soon I was warm, heavy layers tucked in my pack.  I love blue sky and sunshine! I hope all you that were battered by the late spring storm find your skies blue and temperature warm soon.

When I ran today, I saw a very old woman (MUCH older than I) standing about 50 yards off the trail. She was very tall, and very, very wide. I picked my way through small trees and briars to meet her.. She was silent as I studied her, marveling at her age and  size. Surely, she is the last of her kind, sole survivor of forests that covered this area so long ago. Her rough skin looks as though it has been sculpted by wind and harsh elements, their motion freezing slowly in her bark over the many years gone by. . She stands with her enormous arms held high, save one, broken and mangled during a long ago cataclysm. She towers above me, mute and naked, The tattered clothes of last summer's green splendor,  dried to brown and carelessly strewn at her feet.

I wonder at what this Old Woman has seen. Did she weep silently at the slaughter of her offspring by ax and saw? Necessary carnage to farmers, making room for crops that once grew in the now fallow farm field she guards. Does she recall in her long memory, the vibration of guns and artillery as men marched and  played games, practice for the wars in Europe and the Pacific? Did she watch as they walked out of her sight and into war's reality, some never to return to their native soil?