Trail Runners

Question to trail runners who wear road shoes on the trails (Read 459 times)

Happy

Another shoe question:

Does anyone here run in the Montrail Hardrock? Or the Inov-8 roclite? (female)

I currently run trails in the Brooks Cascadia but I am not 100% thrilled with the support it provides. Need a little more protection for the toes (bumping into roots and rocks) and perhaps a tad more cushion or support for the longer runs on single track. One of the things I like about the Brooks Cascadia is how low the heel is - I don't twist my ankles in them. However, I also feel the lowness of the heel puts a lot of stress on the achilles and heel. Perhaps I will develop a stronger more recilient heel/achilles over time? What do you think? 

I am relatively new to running trails. I would appreciat any advice.

5K, 4/28/07 24:16 PR 10K, 5/5/07 49:23 PR 1/2 M, 12/08/07 1:49:34 PR Marathon, 12/09/06 3:57:37 BQ 50K, 10/04/2009 7:27:00 PB 40M, 4/17/2010 11:20:00 PB

Imminent Catastrophe

I run in Inov-8 Terrocs. The low heel, good toe and foot protection are all good for trailrunning. Heel cushioning is not as big a deal in a trail shoe, if you're pounding your heels hard you might be overstriding. Developing your achilles and calf muscles would be a good thing!

"Able to function despite imminent catastrophe"

"To obtain the air that angels breathe you must come to Tahoe"--Mark Twain

"The most common question from potential entrants is 'I do not know if I can do this' to which I usually answer, 'that's the whole point'.--Paul Charteris, Tarawera Ultramarathon RD.

√ Javelina Jundred Jalloween 2015

Cruel Jewel 50 mile May 2016

Western States 100 June 2016

Happy

I run in Inov-8 Terrocs. The low heel, good toe and foot protection are all good for trailrunning. Heel cushioning is not as big a deal in a trail shoe, if you're pounding your heels hard you might be overstriding. Developing your achilles and calf muscles would be a good thing!