Swim Bike Run

What does an Ironman event and Mickey Mouse have in common? (Read 324 times)

Slo

http://www.active.com/triathlon-membership/tampa-fl/ironman-access-2011

Kinda like a fast pass.......and total bullshit I say.

I've been volunteering for 5 years for these yahoo's so if I got the wildhair up my arse to do one I would have a first shot when registration opened......rather than standing out there for 9 hours all I really needed was 1000 bucks....geesh.

I will no longer volunteer for a WTC event. And if I decide to ever go long....it won't be a WTC event.

I saw that today and really pissed me off. $1000 plus registration fee is insane. The cost is really drawing me away from the longer distance ones.

I had thoughts of entering an Ironman competetion in the future, but doubt it now. There is no way in hell I'll fork out a grand to get in a lottery drawing.

More of the "haves vs have nots" and the "good ol boys" club at its finest. yuck

The pain that hurts the worse is the imagined pain. One of the most difficult arts of racing is learning to ignore the imagined pain and just live with the present pain (which is always bearable.) - Jeff

2014 Goals:

Stay healthy

Enjoy life

Slo

$1000 plus registration fee is insane.  

Your forgetting Active.coms registration fees. Not once but twice.......The fee for the "exclusive" membership and then the fee for the actual Ironman of your choice registration. Thats probably another $50 right there.

I also liked the "Exclusive" membership. The only thing "Exclusive" about it is how fast you can cough up $1000.00.

BT...the only problem is there are very few Full Iron distances that are not WTC events. And it's quickly becoming that way for the 70.3 as well.

AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

The one that I think is closest to me is not ironman branded.

However, I'm not iron-distance branded either, so it's immaterial Smile

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.