Swim Bike Run

Goal of completing a half ironman distance tri (Read 411 times)

mark-bixler

I have a goal of completing a half ironman distance triathlon in September of 2012.  Unfortunately, I am a total newbie when it comes to triathlon racing.  I hope to do a couple of shorter distance tri's before then to get my feet wet.

At this point I am looking for advice.  Advice on building a base, the best way to incorporate all three disciplines in training, pretty much anything and everything. 

Where to find a good beginner training plan to help guide me along, etc, etc...

You get the drift.

Listen. Yeah, it's gonna hurt some. That's the marathon business.

But here's the thing. When it starts to get intense, that's not time to panic. This is what you wanted to happen. It means that all the training, all the miles, all the wakeups, all the cold, all the wet, all the sleep-deprived days and all the shit you've done to yourself over the last 6 plus months is finally about to pay off. It means you've put yourself where you wanted to be. You've given yourself an opportunity that very few will ever have. You've given yourself a chance.

Now finish it.

I'm a newbie too, but...

Joe Friel's book titled "Going Long" is a great place to start. 

It's geared toward the full Ironman, but I'm using it as a baseline for endurance racing.

Your question will certainly lead to great advice by people much smarter than me, so be patient, and messages will be arriving soon.  Until then, look up the book on Amazon.  It's well worth the money spent.

Cheers,
      Brian

Life Goals:

#1: Do what I can do

#2: Enjoy life

Hi Mark - welcome!