Swim Bike Run

swimming help needed --- Race Report (Read 339 times)

This is my first year for tri's and I found the biggest help for my swim was to get comfortable with the race swim conditions.  You mention that you have done a tri before.  Do you remember the amount of contact?  I was very surprised by it in my first swim.  I think the single biggest thing you can do to prepare is to get somebody in the water with you to get rough while you practice.  I get my 12 year old son to try and drown me while I'm practicing.  It helped immensely.

This is my first year for tri's and I found the biggest help for my swim was to get comfortable with the race swim conditions.  You mention that you have done a tri before.  Do you remember the amount of contact?  I was very surprised by it in my first swim.  I think the single biggest thing you can do to prepare is to get somebody in the water with you to get rough while you practice.  I get my 12 year old son to try and drown me while I'm practicing.  It helped immensely.

Thats a great idea, and I have an 11 year old who would love to do that!  Yeah, I remember fondly having people swim right over me in that one tri I did.

So I was able to borrow a wetsuit, from my archrival....who is an inch shorter than me and maybe 25 lbs lighter.  I just tried it on tonight and it was quite difficult to get on.  How tight should it be?  It was tough getting over my shoulders, but once on just felt quite tight all over.  zipped up ok, and felt a little better in the water.   Is that normal?  Oh, and it came off far easier than it went on.

I don't have a way to video, at least not easily...I am going to have my stroke looked next weekend by someone far more experienced than I...

My playl for this is to try and survive the swim without exhausting myself and then play catchup on the bike and run portions.    If I like the experience, I will join a YMCA for the winter and work on my swimming.