Diabetic Runners

Introduction (Read 196 times)

Hello,

I'm not new to RA but am new to this group.   I'm a 46 yo married white guy with 3 kids living in Michigan.  I've been running since 2000 and usually run about 15 miles/week.  I am not fast but am proud of completing 5 marathons to date.  Here's my diabetes story...  I applied for a life insurance policy in March 2009 and didn't get the premium rate because my fasting sugar was 126.  Followed up with my doctor and was diagnosed T2 in April 2009.  Went on metformin, than Janumet in July.  Did pretty well with these along with diet, weight loss (25 lbs) and my running (A1C was 8.9 in July and by September, it  was 7.2)   Starting in mid October,  I began dropping a lot of weight but attributed this to increased mileage in preparation for the Indy Monumental Marathon on 11/7/09.  I had a very difficult marathon (went out too fast, tough wind conditions on second half) but finished in one piece.  Unfortunately, the weight loss and poor glycemic control continued.  I lost another 15 pounds in the month of November.  My doc ran blood work which confirmed what I thought - I was actually T1 (or 1.5 or LADA  or whatever).  Went on Lantus in December and started multiple daily injections with Apidra 1/6/10. 

I read Richard Bernstein's book in December and have adopted a low carb diet, multi daily injections, and close monitoring of bG.  Since starting the Apidra, my readings have been good (averaging 120 over the past month).  I am currently considering a pump.  I'm hoping this group will provide some encouragement  and assistance with questions related to managing the illness while keeping up with my running.  Thanks in advance for your help with this.

Kenny

Hi Kenny -- welcome!