Diabetic Runners

New Member Here (Read 267 times)

Hi there, I'm new to RA (formerly on Cool Running), and am delighted to see a group for diabetics here. I look forward to exchanging ideas w/ all of you. I've had Type 1 Diabetes for 16 years, on an insulin pump for about 5, and been running for about 2 years. Have run several 5K's, one 10K, and had my sights on the White Rock 1/2 Marathon last year but had a non diabetes related injury that took me out of running for about 6 weeks and nixed that. I'm currently re-assessing my running goals and thinking of getting away from pushing for a 1/2 and just being content (hopefully) with running 15-20 miles/week, doing the occasional 5K or 10K, and not pushing for more and more distance right now. I'm 41, about 10-15 lbs heavier that I'd like to be, and not particularly fast (28:29 = 5K pr, 1:00:06 = 10K only one). A question for the group. I think over the last year or so of ramping up and trying different types of running on different days (slow and long, shorter fartlek, hill repeats, etc.), I've really begun to guard against the lows too much and am seeing higher blood sugars as a result. My A1C has miraculously stayed at 6.3 for the last 9 months or so, but the standard deviation is not very standard and highly deviant. So do you guys think I'd be better off to make my runs more standard each time rather than varying the type of workout as I try to get the BG in better control? I have my own pet sitting/dog walking business, and that schedule tends to be erratic in terms of activity level, but I love it. Would welcome your input, and hopefully I can contribute something here going forward.
    Progress Trumps Pefection

The voice of mile 18

Hi and thanks for the BFL response. I tend to think alternating hard/easy days will get you better results and will make you less likely to burn out on running than just doing the same thing over and over again. but taht is myjust my guess