Diabetic Runners

1

Useful links (Read 907 times)

    USEFUL LINKS:

     

    DIABETES EDUCATION

    Dibetes Forecast (publication of the ADA) http://www.diabetes.org/diabetesforecast

    American Diabetes Association http://community.diabetes.org/n/pfx/forum.aspx?webtag=amdiabetesz&nav=index

    Diabetes Self-Management Website http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com

    Diabetic Life http://www.dlife.com/

     

    TRAINING INFORMATION

    U.S. Track and Field recommendations on hydration http://www.usatf.org/groups/Coaches/library/hydration/

    Article: "How Much Salt Do We Need While Running?" (active.com) http://www.active.com/story.cfm?story_id=12336&category=running

     Hydration (dlife.com) http://www.dlife.com/dLife/do/ShowContent/daily_living/exercise_and_sports/colberg_exercise_sun.html

    Carbs and other running tips at health24.com http://www.health24.com/fitness/Specific_Sports/16-2175-2181-2278,12518.asp

    Carb information at coolrunning.com http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_1/the-truth-behind-the-atki.shtml

    Pain information (coolrunning.com) http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_5/index.shtml

    Hypoglycemia during or after exercise http://www.momentummedia.com/articles/tc/tc1103/bigdrop.htm    

    DESA, the Diabetes, Exercise, and Sports Association  http://www.diabetes-exercise.org

     

    OTHER FORUMS AND COMMUNITIES

    Insulin Factor Great spot for the T1's in our midst. http://www.insulinfactor.com http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/insulinfactor/

    Diabetes and Sports (any sport you can imagine but a very quiet forum) http://www.diabetesandsports.com

    Runner's World Forum http://forums.runnersworld.com/

    Diabetes Daily http://www.diabetesdaily.com http://www.diabetesdaily.com/forum

     

    RELATED ITEMS

    New! Road Alert Med Tags http://www.roadid.com/Common/Default.aspx

    Med tags http://www.idtags.biz/

    Heart monitor information http://www.marathonguide.com/training/articles/HeartMonitorTraining.cfm

    Community  http://www.tudiabetes.com

    NEW!  Running Shoes for Diabetics, a Shoppers' Guide  http://bestshoesfordiabetics.com/diabetic-running-shoes/ 

     

    RACE INFORMATION

    Running Times Race Finder http://www.runnersworld.com/rt/racefinder

    Run for Diabetes http://www.runfordiabetes.com/

     

    D-BLOGS WORTH READING

    Kerri Morrone http://sixuntilme.com/

    Discipline is never an end in itself, only a means to an end. (RF)

      A fairly new one is www.tudiabetes.comI've gotten some useful information over there.
        Thanks for that addition. It will be added to the list. J

        Discipline is never an end in itself, only a means to an end. (RF)


        straw man

          DESA, the Diabetes, Exercise, and Sports Association http://www.diabetes-exercise.org

          He who has the best time wins. Jerry

            Thanks for the link. Definitely a good one to have. Soon I will do a completely updated page and add those that the folks have sent it.

            Discipline is never an end in itself, only a means to an end. (RF)

              I've added a worthwhile D-Blog to the above list.   If you know of any others that are interesting and informative, let me know. John

               

              I cleaned up the lead page a bit too. 

              Discipline is never an end in itself, only a means to an end. (RF)