Diabetic Runners

Runner Girl - An Introduction (Read 181 times)

Runner Girl

Hey Y'all ! John encouraged me to share my initial post on ADA with y’all here at RunningAHEAD. So, below you will find my first post at ADA. I’ll update y’all at the end of this post with more recent news and events. Good Morning ! Ah, yes, another newbie here ! I just wanted to say hello and that I have enjoyed reading most of the threads here. Some are a bit "pity party' for me, but, for those folks - I keep them in my prayers that they will learn to embrace knowledge and the opportunity for good health. A little history on me: I am a 45 year old professional woman and was diagnosed with T2 in May, 2006 (yes, just last month). This diagnosis came after I went to the eye doctor for an annual check up and my vision had changed dramatically. I just knew something wasn't right. So, I went next door to the pharmacy and bought a cheap BG monitor. I sat in the parking lot praying that my sugar would be normal, yet, knowing that it wasn't. There is a very strong history of this disease in my family and I just knew it would seek me out. It did. My sugar was 272 at 2 PM that day. I was scared to death. Especially after seeing my grandmother and uncle with amputations and my mother, God rest her soul, have reconstructive surgery on her feet and basically never taking care of her diabetes. Those images were prolific in my mind. So, here I was, sitting in my car staring at the number 272 on this monitor. Needless to say, I called my doctor and made an appointment immediately. I have a wonderful endocrinologist who has been working with me for over a year for hypothyroid. Last October I had my thyroid removed. He has done a great job with my meds and I can trust him completely. On May 5th my A1c was 9.4 and I was officially diagnosed with T2. My cholesterol was 150 and my triglycerides were 107. I'm taking glucophage 1000 mg twice a day (breakfast and dinner). My morning numbers are around 118 and m