Half Marathon Trainers

Half Marathon trainers-November '08 (Read 391 times)

Prince of Fatness

Will probably never do it again
    Never say never. Just keep at it and you might just surprise yourself. Great job. Well I got the results of my bone scan today and there are NO stress fractures. I can ease back into running. I still have soreness so I am going to take my time getting back to my normal mileage. Needless to say I am very happy with this news.

Not at it at all. 

Great job Vixi. You always refer to some of us guys as speedy, but if you look at your time, you're right there with us and finishing at sub 8s is very impressive. LPH I did get my sub-2 half, though! I finished yesterday in 1:50:36! I had one of those days I wish for all my friends: running felt absolutely effortless, and in fact I went sub-8 my last two miles. I've never done that before. Absolutely great race. Will probably never do it again . . . Smile

LPH

"Today I broke my record for most consecutive days lived!"

I did get my sub-2 half, though! I finished yesterday in 1:50:36!
        Congrats! Is that a 10 minute improvement this year? A

Recalculating...

Ringmaster

Thanks again for your encouragement. Larry, I don't think I'm quite up to your speed, but it's something to work towards. Yes, Ayola, I improved my PR by close to 12 minutes. Even better, at my first half I felt like I was dying coming across that finish line. My knees were screaming in pain, I was losing a toenail, and had a blister the size of platter on one toe. I could barely move afterward. This time, I was flying the last three miles. I kept checking--wait, does that knee hurt? No? Really? That's why I kept getting faster--I finally felt like I could let loose those last three miles because I was almost there. And I felt great! Hubs and I walked back to our car, over a bridge, the last two miles. I don't know if my legs have gotten that much stronger or if I just trained that much smarter. Crazy, huh?