Half Marathon Trainers

HMT - August 2011 (Read 822 times)

Climbing Mt Ruapehu

Fantastic Vino... and all you other long distance veterans.

Now I've only done 5 long runs, but when will they seem more comfortable ( less painful)? I know I was pushing it to get ready for a half in only 13 weeks, but feel I've done a decent job of training so far. I started feeling self doubt on this mornings long run though. The first 6 miles was fine, but it got tough for the last 2.5. Can I expect  an easier go before my early October race, or do I just need to HTFU for the next  7 weeks?

Yes definitely.  My first 2x 30km training runs I struggled at the end but my 4th and 5th were pretty comfortable. Just teach your body to run far. You don't have to feel good while doing it to achieve that.  The feeling good comes later

Good luck, head down, bum up and just do the miles - nice and easy pace, keep injury free!

Oh and PS. I am no veteran, I am a novice.  i have only run 2x Half Marathons in my life and I am training for my 1st Marathon. Big grin

Personal Race Records:

M 3:52:48 (Auckland 2011), HM 1:38:16 (Taupo 2010), 10km 45:05 (Sir Barry 2010), 5km 20:21 (How Pak 5km 2010)

2012 Goals:
    Run the 75km Hillary Trail in a day (done 10/3/2012)

Fantastic Vino... and all you other long distance veterans.

Now I've only done 5 long runs, but when will they seem more comfortable ( less painful)? I know I was pushing it to get ready for a half in only 13 weeks, but feel I've done a decent job of training so far. I started feeling self doubt on this mornings long run though. The first 6 miles was fine, but it got tough for the last 2.5. Can I expect  an easier go before my early October race, or do I just need to HTFU for the next  7 weeks?