Half Marathon Trainers

half marathon trainers - February '08 (Read 625 times)

mattw1970

Injured

Im a newbie to this group but not to runing halfs 8 miles on the dreadmill last night at the gym! I hate the treadmill but its a neccesary evil this time of year! Just dont like running in the dark at night. not safe on the roads training for my 3rd half and 1st this year. April 27 Lehigh Valley Half Marathon -- hoping for something sub 1:35 not sure how much under but we shall see! good luck all 1/2 trainers!
    INJURED

Prince of Fatness

Congrats on your race performance and new PR! I ran that race last year on the ice ( talk about a disaster of a race. Its amazing no one got hurt -- that I know of) You should definitely nail sub 1:40 in April. are you running the Lehigh Valley 1/2 ? If so, im doing that one as well. My best half time is around 1:34:30 on a much flatter course. im told the LV half is pretty hilly so we shall see.
      Thanks. This was the second time I ran this race but did not do it last year. I heard about the ice. This year the running conditions were ideal, low to mid 30s, sunny, no wind. Considering the rain we got several days prior, the trail portions were not that muddy. All in all a good day. This will be my 5th straight year running the LVHM. I hear people complain about the hills, but honestly, if you run any kind of hills during your training you won't have a problem. The hills that there are are very short. The last couple of miles do trend uphill, but again it's not bad. You can find an elevation profile on the race's website. I don't see why you couldn't PR there, assuming you've trained for it. Hope that helps. Edited to add: I see from your sig that you are running Steamtown this year. I ran my first and only marathon there last year. Those folks put on a good race ... you should enjoy it.

Not at it at all. 

mattw1970

Injured