Half Marathon Trainers

Heat/Humidity: how to compensate? (Read 339 times)

Beatin' on the Rock

Long run today was tough. The temperature at 7:30 am was 76, 98% humidity - and a sticky, humid breeze from the south. I started sweating as I put my shoes on. The first miles were the worst miles. After about 5, the sun went behind some clouds for a few miles, and I felt OK - pretty good really. I noticed I wasn't dripping anymore, and briefly wondered if that could be a good thing? The sun beat me to death the final 2. I slowed to a snail's pace... had to walk a bit ... No The worst thing is the drips in the eyes; nothing I've tried helps with that. Any suggestions? I had to lay down afterward. For a while. It just seems like the heat beats me up sooo bad. [But, I've got a real nice tan going Big grin (don't hurt me)] I know I have a lot of nerve complaining of heat and humidity when some of you are freezin your ta-ta's off, but - remmeber: I'm a newbie. Shy And, I need all the help I can get. What can I do, besides move inside, to alleviate that beating?
    Be yourself. Those that matter, don't mind. Those that mind, don't matter.
    Teresadfp

One day at a time

Oh, my gosh! I don't know, move to Maine?? It's a good question - I had the "dripping" issue today when I ran 5 miles on a treadmill at the Y. Ychh! I'm glad it looks like I can run on Saturday when it's in the 20s!
      Ringmaster