A Mile A Day

Where to start? (Read 126 times)

Oh Mighty Wing

Hi guys! I am very interested in this streaking concept as I'm hoping it might rejuvenate my running which has suffered with an injury and poisonous running partners. But I read about streaking on the general forum and it led me to you guys. My dream is to one day run a marathon and after snooping around logs I saw enough proof that it is totally doable with streaks. So a little history: I've been running off and on for 5 years. Running consistently since last June. Had a half scheduled for March but 3 weeks out suffered a knee injury. Have struggled to get back into the game since then. I am still planning on running a half June 14th even if I need to walk some. Mentally it's the right thing to do. Streaking sounds like something that would be good for me to try! But how do I get started? Some people mention having minimum runs set, but let's say I set a 2mi minimum would it be too much? Or should i just go for it and see where it leaves me? How do I do this without heading right into an injury? I need some serious guidance! Thank you all in advance!

El Presidente

How do I do this without heading right into an injury?
      Well what is causing you to get injured? Most people who struggle with injuries aren't recovering properly after some of their workouts. For us streakers, we like to recover by running shorter runs at a much slower pace. Recovery runs do wonders at getting blood to the muscles and flushing out the junk that sometimes lead to injury. The slow pace means less wear and tear and will not tax your system. Does that sound possible?

"I train conservatively so that I can race recklessly."

Oh Mighty Wing