Ultra Runners

Old Pueblo 50 - My first ultra (Read 415 times)

Hi Everyone, I started training for my first ultra. A couple of my running friends talked me into signing up for it though I admittedly have been wanting to break into the ultra world for a while now. There are going to be 3 of us gals and 1 guy doing all our long training runs together. I'm very excited! Big grin

Imminent Catastrophe

I've heard good things about OP, since I grew up in Tucson it intrigues me too. A friend tells me, lots of climbs/descents. I might even aim for that, depends on what happens in the next few weeks. I hope it doesn't fill up before then.

"Able to function despite imminent catastrophe"

"To obtain the air that angels breathe you must come to Tahoe"--Mark Twain

"The most common question from potential entrants is 'I do not know if I can do this' to which I usually answer, 'that's the whole point'.--Paul Charteris, Tarawera Ultramarathon RD.

√ Javelina Jundred Jalloween 2015

Cruel Jewel 50 mile May 2016

Western States 100 June 2016

Hi Perfessor, You grew up in Tucson? Cool! Cool That's good that you have heard good things about this race! I'm fearful about climbs and descents though! There's no elevation chart so I have NO idea how hilly it will be. As for signing up for the race, it filled in about 3 hours once they opened up online registration! I couldn't believe it! I was glad that my friends and I all had access to the internet in time to get in. Since I've never done a 50 before, I have no idea how many people usually run them. I think this one is limited to 150 runners. I know they have a waiting list but I don't know how many people are on it.

Imminent Catastrophe

Hi Perfessor, You grew up in Tucson? Cool! Cool As for signing up for the race, it filled in about 3 hours once they opened up online registration! ...

"Able to function despite imminent catastrophe"

"To obtain the air that angels breathe you must come to Tahoe"--Mark Twain