Ultra Runners

Stepping up to a 100 miler? (Read 58 times)

npaden

Okay, reading all these race reports and running a recent trail race and looking for running goals has me thinking about working in a new goal.

You can look at my log for my history, I've been running for 6 years now and got Boston checked off my list this year and have been struggling to find a new target.  I did run an easy 50 mile trail race back in 2015, but then got focused on Boston and kind of ditched the trail running for a bit.  I enjoyed the challenge of the 50 miler, but I intentionally picked an easy race and there was never a question of whether I was going to finish or not, just how my time was going to be.  I finished in 9 hours and 31 minutes and was pretty happy with that.  I did have to walk toward the end but kept up my easy running pace for the first 40 miles.

I ran another trail race in Montana later that summer with 8,000' of elevation gain/loss and 98 degree temperatures and that was much harder.  It was only a 52K but took me 10 hours and 46 minutes to finish and my body was much worse off when I was done.  Part of it was the elevation, part of it the temperature and I think part of it was that I hadn't trained very well for it.  The trail was also very technical in quite a few stretches.

I then focused on Boston and it took me a couple years but I got it checked off.  Fun and glad I did it, but not something I feel like I need to do every year.

Now I was back to looking for running goals and I've added a couple trail races and really enjoy the challenge.  The only real drawback is that I don't have many trails near where I live (other than a 1.6 mile loop around my property that I have made) and I live in a relatively flat part of the world so training for elevation can be problematic.

SO, all that lead up to ask if you guys think my current plan is crazy or not based on my running history.