Ultra Runners

Flint Hills Marathon (Read 16 times)

dhuffman63

Trails

I'll preface this with the comment that I'm not good at writing up race reports like some of you.  This was supposed to be a marathon but due to sign issues turned into a 50k for me.

The drive up took 4 and ½ hours but it wasn’t bad. A lot of people think KS is flat but while there are sections that are pancake flat there are hills.  I drove past some of the most amazing tall grass prairie where you could see nothing but grass for miles.  Easy to imagine great herds of buffalo.  Got to Manhattan, KS at around 4 pm and checked in to the Quality Inn there, then went to find the packet pick up site which was the LRS.  Nice store but I was hungry and wanted to find dinner.

Since I have issues with dairy but decided on Olive Garden, pasta you know, it took a while to figure out how to get what I wanted with no sauce. So I ordered spaghetti, grilled chicken and the asiago sauce on the side…presto, no dairy.  Back to the hotel for the night.  Took a hot Epson salt bath once the water came back on…really of all times to have plumbing issues.

Since my race didn’t start until 7:30 and breakfast was at 6 I got up at 5:30 and went down to have what ever I could eat…some scrambled eggs and grabbed a banana. Went up and got dressed.  I brought my fleece tights, injinji socks, a SS shirt, and my fleece zip up along with gloves and a fleece hat.  Topped that off with a rain poncho.  I had a ton of GU’s that I have found I can no longer tolerate so I gave them to the RD who had them available to anyone who wanted any of it.  It went fast.