Ultra Runners

Socks (Read 540 times)

HoosierDaddy

GreyBeard

What do you use for ultras?  My drymax have been bothering my feet lately... the material seems rough.  Anything soft yet water resistant you can recommend - brand / style?

• Black Canyon 100k
    • RRR
    • Zane Grey 100k
    • High Lonesome 100
    • Wyoming Range 100 (?)
    • The Bear 100
    • Javelina Jundred (?)

I'm far from an expert, but I can tell you this. Did my first 50 mile trail race yesterday. 4 loops with a colllld water crossing 3 miles in, so I ran 47 miles with wet feet. Bodyglided my toes, wore smartwool socks. No blisters, and my feet stayed acceptably warm. I'd use them again.

A list of my PRs in a misguided attempt to impress people that do not care.

DoppleBock

funny - I won 12 pair of drymax and gave them all away - I tried one pair and it lasted 5 runs @ 80 miles total - I can not afford the  kindof cost per mile.  I just use $1 cotton socks - I never have had issues with blisters ... in fact I ran in the same pair of socks all 154 miles of the 24 hour race - No issues.

Long dead ... But my stench lingers !

HoosierDaddy

GreyBeard

funny - I won 12 pair of drymax and gave them all away - I tried one pair and it lasted 5 runs @ 80 miles total - I can not afford the  kindof cost per mile.  I just use $1 cotton socks - I never have had issues with blisters ... in fact I ran in the same pair of socks all 154 miles of the 24 hour race - No issues.

Wondered... don't they get heavy in water?

• Black Canyon 100k
          • RRR
          • Zane Grey 100k
          • High Lonesome 100
          • Wyoming Range 100 (?)
          • The Bear 100
          • Javelina Jundred (?)
          HoosierDaddy

GreyBeard