Ultra Runners

Favorite sock for long runs? (Read 73 times)

NYCNorma

I feel like my socks have all turned against me. The past couple of years I've had luck with Wright Socks, but I've been wearing them this training cycle and getting repeated blisters--some between my toes and some on the bottom. I have a pair of SmartWools that I like, but I bought them a couple of years ago on sale and they are a discontinued model. It seems a lot of running socks on their site say they are for short distances, so I've been afraid to buy more. I also have one pair of Injinjis, but they hurt in between my toes. I think my feet are misshapen. (toes too long?)

Anyway, I would love to hear what you love.

Daydreamer1

I'm assuming that you are using the double layer version of the Wright Sock. Several years ago I had seen some in a running store that I'm sure were just single layer so I just wanted to clarify that. I've been using the double layer version for the past two to three years and this year I started to feel some chafing on the soles of my feet. I think the problem is that I've been wearing them too long and while they don't really look worn out they are starting to get somewhat threadbare which increases the friction. Since I'm cheap and hate to throw things out, I've been using those on short runs and newer ones on long runs.

Are they too snug? Even if you have been using the same size for years it's possible that your feet have grown slightly. My shoe size has changed recently going up at least a 1/2 size. That could be part of the problem.

Are you keeping up with foot care, keeping your callouses filed down etc.?

Have you changed shoes or if you're using what you always have, are they a different version?

Just trying to throw out a few ideas to possibly consider.

I really like my Wright Socks. The smart wools that I have are nice but they are just too warm for me in the summer.

NYCNorma