Ultra Runners

Forget the PR 50K (Read 171 times)

who knows...

A race report of sorts... I went into this race thinking I was treating this as a long run; run my own race and don't worry about time or pace. At the time of the race I had a 50 miler about 3 weeks later, but this was a good chance to run on the same trails the Mohican 100 mile race would take place in June. Run correctly, it would also prove to be a good training run for the 50. The start of an ultra always proves to be different than the start of a marathon. At an ultra it is not uncommon to see people standing around and laughing nervously about how slow they are going to run the race. And at this start, everyone stood back from the starting line--no one wanted to toe it. I tried to take my place in the middle of the pack (I have been running for only two years and am not stupidly overconfident) but found myself within the first 20 runners given the rather amorphous shaping of the group. In past races I have gone out much to fast at the start and paid for it dearly at the end. And this race promised to be a tough predominantly single-track, hill-infested run with some vertical hand-over-hand ascent. For this race I wanted only to go out comfortably, maintain a constant pace, and run the hills. The start of the race began with a serpentine climb of almost 800 feet in altitude--there would be no 1-2 mile warmup here! I found myself running uphill faster than a number of people in front of me. At first I worried that I was again starting out too fast but a pace check showed I was well within my comfort range. My hill training was proving fruitful and I moved up eventually to 9th place. One guy I passed tried to keep pace with me for several miles but he was of a heavier build and I could hear his labored breathing even when 10+ paces head of him. Breathing that hard at the beginning of the race is never a good sign and as I expected, he would lose steam after 6 miles. A group of us passed a lady who p