Ultra Runners

Walking fast (Read 561 times)

Jerry's Sevenoaks circular report with the walkers has me thinking about my upcoming race strategy.  I think I will need to walk a significant amount at Umstead but would like to not loose too much time because of it.  I have recently started to try to see how fast I can walk and if I really concentrate I have been able to go about 10 minute/mile pace.  This pace however is not sustainable for a long distance and is actually more difficult for me than running at the same pace.  Do you guys work on walking fast?  Any tips for proper form? Suggestions on  how to incorporate it into a 100 miler?

Buzzie

Bacon Party!

I do work on walking fast, but I'm not good at it.

For me, the goal is just to become accustomed to walking faster so that my default, mindless, restful, walking pace increases.

Liz

pace sera, sera

I do work on walking fast, but I'm not good at it.

For me, the goal is just to become accustomed to walking faster so that my default, mindless, restful, walking pace increases.

Thanks, this makes sense.  The walking I did in my 100k was of the slow restful, mindless variety.  I did it on uphills and when I was too exhausted to run.  I think what I'm looking for is a deliberate, fast walking pace to save me from trashing my legs early on and be able to finish.

Steve, I was running with a lady for part of the journey yesterday and we naturally started to walk on an incline and her gait was completely different to mine up the hill. I mentioned she must be a strong walker to which she said that was her preferred  discipline.

It was really obvious because the strength of her stride whilst us runners have a totally different technique. I do practice a walking technique of sorts where I lengthen my stride and use much more of my arms, I have to admit I probably look at absolute tit but it works for me. I prefer to run and only practice the walking technique for up hills by the way

Jerry