training for a 10k question (Read 865 times)

My prewash:)

I was wondering what would be the longest run you would need to incorporate into training 10k? Also for those of you that adhere to the 3 day/cross training program, how do you space those out and when is your rest day? I appreciate the insight. I am a fitness instructor at the local Y and teach a weight lifting class 3 times a week so I am finding a balance challenging time wise as well as fighting muscle soreness most days.

"Carpe Diem"

I'm no expert here.....so while reading anything I say, consider the source......BUT, I think this is a very open ended question. If you are talking about a first timer, trying to simply complete a 10K, then I would personally recommend running up to 5 or 6 miles once per week with 3 or 4 mile runs during the week. If your a runner trying to race and train for a 10K, JEFF GALLOWAY recommends 17 miles training runs of the weekends. So this answer really depends on what you are trying to really accomplish.........finish and not feel like CRUD, or race and set a PR or win your age group.....

Champions are made when no one is watching

mikeymike

So this answer really depends on what you are trying to really accomplish.....
        +1. If you just want to finish without walking then you are already more than capable of that.

Runners run

Are you looking to race at 10K or just go the distance? For a beginner looking to survive, 6-7 miles would be fine. For racing, you'd probably want your long run up in the 10-12 range (at least). Hal Higdon is a good place to start http://www.halhigdon.com/10ktraining/10kintro.htm
          MM# 1477