First Race Ever (Read 520 times)

I signed up for my first race. It's a local 5k fun run kind of thing. I just wanted to know what to expect. Also tips and such. I don't want to look like a complete newbie Blush. ok
    Goals: Run.
      Hope you have fun! Here's a few pointers. The race director may describe the course at the start. Most people won't be able to hear and few people will remember anything they say. Don't worry. Just follow the crowd. Unless it's a REALLY small event it's unlikely you'll need to do anything more than follow the person in front. Put your number on the front, not the back of your shirt. They need to see it as you finish usually. I'm assuming they won't have chips for a fun run. At any race, no matter how fun, a group of people will go out fast. The good runners are doing this to get out of the way of the stampeding pack - plus they run fast anyway. Even many of them won't keep up the pace of the first few hundred meters. But this sprint start creates a vortex dragging many unwary runners out into a start that is too fast. Everyone will tell you this but go out slower than you plan to run, especially for your first race. It will make it a more enjoyable experience for you as you get to speed up later if you feel okay and pass people. Actually you'll pass people even if you don't speed up since most other people will slow down over the course of the race. John
      Goal: Age grade over 80% on a certified course.
        There have been a couple of good threads on things to keep in mind for new racers. Here's one I found.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

Think Whirled Peas