garmin losing the signal? (Read 1411 times)

Garmin Forerunner 305 newbie here. I've been having 2 problems:

1.  Losing signal?  On a couple of runs I've been on using the Forerunner, all of a sudden in the run, it stops tracking via satellite and there is a straight line on the map.  It looks like it lost satellite feed, even though it didn't give me any warning on the device.  Is something wrong with the device?

2. The Garmin Connect mileage does not match Running Ahead log.   Usually about a 1/2 mile or so.  Anyone else have these problems?

Thanks and happy holidays!

Suffering Benefiting from mature onset exercise addiction and low aerobic endorphin release threshold. Hoping there is no cure.

Petco Run/Walk/Wag 5k

I have a 301 and it's GPS sensor is not as sensitive as the 305's.It will loose signal under dense trees and amongst high buildings. I thought the 305, being more sensitive, would have fewer problems. Losing signal depends on how much is blocked and not reflected so if trail running in high trees it may still lose lock.

I don't use Garmin connect so have no idea why the distances are different.

bob e v
      2014 goals: keep on running! Is there anything more than that?

Complete the last 3 races in the Austin Distance Challenge, Rogue 30k, 3M Half, Austin Full

Break the 1000 mi barrier!

History: blessed heart attack 3/15/2008; c25k july 2008 first 5k 10/26/2008 on 62nd birthday.

Menace to Sobriety

Is the area where you lose the signal open, or in the city, lots of trees, etc?

I have an old 201 which is less sensitive, but these will interfere with your signal, as well, if they're dense enough.

Does it always happen near the same place? I have a couple of areas where mine will almost always drop the signal. Not sure why, because its mostly open, but it happens about 80% of the time I'm on that stretch.