Hansons vs. Pfitzinger (Read 2722 times)

bhearn

I've just finished reading the new Hansons Marathon Method book. As a long-time user of Pfitzinger plans, I was most interested to contrast the two approaches. (There is already a thread discussing Hansons training, but I thought it would be appropriate to break this topic out separately.)

I'm no expert on training methodologies, so rather than make judgments here, I'm just going to note what I see as the major differences. Hopefully the experts will speak up on how to interpret them. Also for the most part I'm only interested here in comparing the plans, not the books, although I will say that I slightly prefer Pfitzinger's presentation. The Hansons book (written by Luke Humphrey) seems a trifle dumbed down, and is a bit unclear or inconsistent in places. On the whole, however, I think each book can serve pretty well as a standalone training resource. The Hansons book does seem more oriented towards the beginning marathoner (and after all, Pfitz's book is called "Advanced Marathoning").

On to the plans. To get specific, I'm looking primarily at the Hansons' Advanced Program (18 weeks), vs. Pfitzinger's 18-week, 55-70 mpw plan. Hansons Advanced tops out at 62 miles, but I think these two plans come the closest in being comparable. (Personally, I am interested in higher mileage than 62, something more like Pfitz's 70-85, but fortunately the Hansons book tells you how to add miles to the Advanced Program.)

Terminology

First, there are terminology differences in the two books. For those looking to translate, here are what the respective books call different types of workouts / paces:

Hansons Pfitzinger
    speed VO2max
    strength Lactate threshold / tempo
    tempo marathon pace