Blood donation (Read 966 times)

redleaf

Hi. I'm new here but I thought I'd chime in on this one. In 2003, I was told that I would not be able to donate again because I would be spending a year in London - from autumn 2003 to autumn 2004. So I didn't donate again. Then someone else asked a similar question and I went and checked. Turns out I was given the wrong info. In Canada at any rate the "rules" are: -three months or more in the United Kingdom (U.K.) between January 1980, and December 31, 1996 -three months or more in France between January 1980, and December 31, 1996, -five years or more in Western Europe outside the U.K. or France since 1980. I didn't hit my "3 months" in the UK until my 2003-2004 trip, well outside the time period in question. So I can give blood again. I am a newbie runner - currently on week 2 of a learn to run programme - so I don't think the lethargy, or lack of oxygen, that donating may cause will perceptively alter my performance... Big grin

First or last...it's the same finish line

HF #4362

C-R

Short answer - it depends. Depends on your current health and fitness level. Since you are just starting out on running - donation day don't run and relax/rehydrate. Go slow and short the next few days as you will feel a bit tired from reduced red cells. Keep well hydrated and listen to your body.

"He conquers who endures" - Persius
      "Every workout should have a purpose. Every purpose should link back to achieving a training objective." - Spaniel

http://ncstake.blogspot.com/

Short answer - it depends. Depends on your current health and fitness level. Since you are just starting out on running - donation day don't run and relax/rehydrate. Go slow and short the next few days as you will feel a bit tired from reduced red cells. Keep well hydrated and listen to your body.