Chubby guy looking for all types of advice. (Read 1117 times)

huber

OK, so heres the deal. I was a state champion wrestler in high school, decided not to wrestle in college when I hurt my back at the end of my senior year, went to college, and started drinking beer. 10 years later, about hundred pounds more than when I graduated, Im turning 30 in 4 months and finally have gotten sick of looking at my waist go up and down every other year. Anyways, here is the deal. Im 29. Im 5'11" I weigh 260 (theres some muscle in there, not all chunk) Quit smoking more than 3 months ago And I have something burining inside of me to get back into shape and also to start running minis with my friends. (About 75% of my friends are runners, thats how I found this site) What am I looking for? Several things really. The first is what you all consider the best, most affect way of losing weight, as well as staying healthy. Next is how to add millage onto my runs. Last night at the gym I did a Nike + session on the treadmill, first time I have worked out in a LONG time and did 2.1 miles in 30 minutes. I know that isn't very impressive, but it was my first day. I know its going to take time to add distance but any tips to break through the mental block? Any help, hints, or words of encouragement would be great. I'm very serious about this and am ready to make a life change. Thanks Huber P.S. I seriously like how the site works with recording info to see how your doing. After I get a few months in, I think it will be neat to track my progress.