What Would You Do? (Read 975 times)

RunsForCake

I don't know how to keep this short so if you don't want to read a novel don't continue. Wink I've been running since 2006 and for the past year I have been plagued with stress fractured femurs. Once in the left leg and the most recent in the right. The first one was diagnosed in April 2008. I was one week from running another half marathon and finally gave in and went to a sports doctor who ordered an MRI. Femoral stress fracture on the left leg. I was banned from running until I was healed and used the bike at the gym to keep somewhat fit. Talk about wanting to poke your eyes out...BORING! I had every intention of making 2008 my year to run a marathon. I was even registered for Chicago and had to eat the $110 registration fee due to this injury. By August 2007 I felt well enough to start running again. Everything was going great...ran a 5k, 4 mile and 10k race in November and was looking foward to training for a Spring Marathon. Mid-December 2008. Started feeling that familar pain again only this time in my right femur. Since I was heading on vacation for the Christmas holiday I could not see the sports doc until December 31st. And because I was heading someplace warm I could not not run so I did run a few runs even though I had a feeling it was another stress fracture. Saw the doctor and had another MRI the second week of January. Yes, I kept running on the treadmill for two weeks after I saw the doctor but only 5 miles every other day. Call me thick headed but I knew I was heading back to the bench. This time, because I knew the symptoms, it was not as bad as the first fracture and once again was banned from running until I was painfree. This time I spent the majority of my exercising on a seated elliptical which is better than the bike but still boring. I also went to physical therapy which, quite honestly, was more like having a glorified trainer as she just showed me some exercises to do for my core. I also ha