50 MPW is too many??? (Read 1225 times)

Old, Slow, Happy

I went to the running shop last night. When the clerk asked what she could do for me, I said "Fix my runners knee." She analyzed my feet and the wear pattern on my old shoes. She said I was in the correct shoes and my wear pattern was very good. She did measure my feet and reccommend another 1/2 size larger. She asked how much I run. I said I try to get in 50 MPW. She said the human body is not made to run 50 mpw week in and week out. She told me that 25 is the correct number. I should only do 50 when I'm training for a race. Her statement was, "If you do 50 miles week after week, you will get runners knee and other injuries." I have been running 45 - 50 miles every week for about 2 1/2 years except when I have an injury. What do you think? Is 50 mpw too many to do regularly? I'll appreciate any responses, constructive or otherwise.

Think Whirled Peas

No.

Just because running is simple does not mean it is easy.

Relentless. Forward. Motion. <repeat>

Prince of Fatness

She said the human body is not made to run 50 mpw week in and week out.
        Based solely on my own experience, I have to call BS on this one. I have had my share of injuries, but I refuse to blame them on the miles. For me it's always been from not being careful when adding the high intensity stuff. Others may have a different opinion.

Not at it at all. 

mikeymike

Is this a trick question?

Runners run

Mr Inertia

Suspect Zero

I predict a lot of people responding to this with things like "BS", "No", "She's full of crap" and similar sentiments. I predict that everyone who responds as such is correct. The Amazing Kresgin has spoken. More = better assuming there are no oddities that preclude that.
            theyapper

On the road again...

Maybe she meant 50 MEALS per week??

I write. I read. I run. One time, I ran a lot on my 50th birthday.

Paul