How exactly do you race? (Read 1049 times)

I've tried to pick races that arent too big. I like to be able to get into the pace I'd like to run pretty early in the race. The smaller races also give me an outside chance at age group places. As far as strategy I'm still learning, but for my 5k races I have some goal times set for some shorter distances in the race (like .3 mi, .5 mi, .7 for example). For the 19:44 5k race I just ran I had split times calculated for 19:45 pace, 20:00, 20:15 and 20:30. This allowed me to ensure I wasnt going out too fast and also to gauge how I felt that day. I dont often pace off of others in a race, but I have used other racers behind me to help me finish strong over the last mile or so in 5k or 10k races. I have long term goals (BQ for example). I use shorter races to allow me to work on different types of training over the course of the year. Other races keep me motivated to keep training through the cold winter months.
    PRs 2 mile: 12:30 7/07 5k: 19:39 8/08 10k: 44:12 5/07 HalfM: 1:35:06 2/08 25k: 1:57:30 9/08 Mar: 3:19:07 10/08
    Mr R