How do you feel about rising obesity levels in America and Europe? (Read 458 times)

MilesDog

Eat real food, cut out all high fructose corn syrup, and eat more butter.  Fat is not the enemy.

BeeRunB

Bacteria from Lean Mice Prevent Obesity in Peers

The link is to an article I read in a magazine made of trees while on an airplane (which is when I usually read Scientific American).

What it suggests to me is that perhaps the obesity problem is not just a simple belief of "calories in vs. calories burned." There has been ample food in the USA for a long time, but the obesity problem is relatively recent. Perhaps the cause of wanting to eat more and more is in something like imbalanced flora, caused by something that's in the food or by pharmaceuticals.

I'm not a scientist or a doctor, so I'm not really up to speed on the current research. But in my near complete ignorant layman's peripheral, I've been noticing research that is pointing to the possibility that many of our intestinal ills are really a bacterial imbalance problem, and the conditions can be improved or eliminated with a rebalancing (with e.g. a fecal implant). Perhaps, a healthy gut=a healthy, lean body.

Joann Y

Bacteria from Lean Mice Prevent Obesity in Peers

The link is to an article I read in a magazine made of trees while on an airplane (which is when I usually read Scientific American).

What it suggests to me is that perhaps the obesity problem is not just a simple belief of "calories in vs. calories burned." There has been ample food in the USA for a long time, but the obesity problem is relatively recent. Perhaps the cause of wanting to eat more and more is in something like imbalanced flora, caused by something that's in the food or by pharmaceuticals.