What entices you to run a race? (Read 772 times)

Ben Running

The atmosphere that goes along with races. Being around a lot of other runners is always fun. Shirts, food and BEER.
    wanderingoutlaw

The cost to run a race (including travel, lodging, dining, etc.) is becoming more important for me to run a race. If cost is equal, I'd be more drawn to an interesting course (and area). I also seem to prefer smaller races, rather than mega-events. A good technical shirt can entice me. Adequate refreshments is nice. Awards and door prizes don't matter much to me. Chip timing is nice but not necessary (unless I'm running a marathon with hope of BQing).

John

mikeymike

Competition, beer, sometimes monkeys.

Runners run

Since I am just starting out in this racing thing I have chosen all of my races so far based on proximity and falling on the right date. However, of the ones I have done I know some of the things that make me want to go back and do those races again. Organization is HUGE! I am already stressed on race morning. I want clearly marked check-in, a good flow to pick up shirts (yes I still like these, though 30 years from now maybe not so important.) and bibs. I like an Expo with people handing out freebies. (I like free things. What can I say?) During the race: clearly marked course. mile markers are good. I don't want to have to worry about which way to go on the course, especially if there are multiple races on the same course. It can get confusing and I don't want to waste energy figuring out which direction to turn. Water stations!!! I bring my own electrolyte drink to longer races, but water stations are nice, even in a 5K for us slow runners! I do like chip timing. Not sure why, but I do. After: since I am a definite back of the packer...raffles are nice. There are no AG award possibilities in my near future, but at the last race they had some really nice raffle prizes. I liked that. Lots of water available after the race, in different places so you do