New runner here, I am having an issue with my lower back/upper glute muscles! (Read 52 times)

MarkiMark396

I’ve been running for a few months now, and recently I had to take a few weeks off due to getting really sick. So I started running again, but I have noticed that about half a mile into my run I develop this sore aching feeling in my lower back, or at the top of my glutes on both sides of my tail bone and it is driving me insane.. I stretch, I do warm ups and start off easy, but those muscles flare up and it makes it difficult to run. After about a mile and a half they stop aching and then I can run freely. Has anyone else had that issue? How do you fix that??? Any help would be appreciated

an amazing likeness

Generally speaking, our muscles work in opposing pairs -- the biceps & triceps; hamstrings & quads, etc. And, in most cases, the opposing pairs are imbalanced in their power/leverage. Consider the muscles or muscle groups which oppose your lower back, the stuff on the front, and start working on strengthening them to equalize their opposing pair in your lower back.

It sounds from your description like your lower back muscles are tightening and cramping...

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

MarkiMark396

I would consider myself in decent shape, having been weight lifting the last 5 years and I recently started running regularly and this wasn’t an issue until I came back after being sick, I can’t help but think it’s a posture issue but I will not rule out what you said, and will definitely work on that as well as other things like various stretching or exercises, it definitely feels like those two muscles are tightening and then cramping and they’re fine when I walk but when I run that’s when it happens and then it’s like a mile and half in it just goes away it’s so odd. Thank you for taking the time to explain to me what you think might be the problem I appreciate it!

littleGizmo