Different training methods (Read 912 times)

OK...this is my first year running. I started the summer with the goal of just finishing a 5k and ended up running 2 of them in back to back weekends(even winning my age in one). After the second one I took a break for a week or so then just as i was getting going again got sick with mono for like 8 or 9 days. Needless to say it put a hold on everything for a bit. So i started just walking some then back to running. Now before, i was up to maybe 15 to 18 MPW but now it's like i'm starting all over. Thats when I found this site with the handy training log and friendly people to talk to. I also found different ways to train such as fartlek. Can somebody tell me when to start doing different speed training and other kinds so i can reach my goals next year.
    2009 Goals (nobody laugh) Run 800 miles or more Run 12 or more 5ks Run 2 10ks Get 5k times in 25's Run a 3 miler in 24:29 or less Run in HM in October
    Purdey

Self anointed title

It would help people to respond properly if you made your log public - that way we could see what speeds/distances you were doing. Smile btw - many congrats on your first two 5ks. My tuppence worth is not to bother too much about any formal speed training for a good while yet. Concentrate on getting a consistent weekly mileage under your belt, perhaps building up gradually to around 25mpw. You mentioned fartlek - this is probably the best introduction to speed work, just go out at your normal pace, put in some harder efforts when you feel like it and return to your normal pace to recover. Job done. Coupled with a decent steady mileage base this will do wonders for your 5k times! Good luck.

congrats on the 5ks! Woot (is that what people write now?) +1 on Purdey.
        And you know sometimes it gets so painful Just like talking to yourself When everything don't seem to have no rhyme or reason We all go Do do loo do do, do do loo do do Waiting for the sun to shine
        Slo