Training for 10-mile race? (Read 1249 times)

PhillyMar

I’m a running newbie (at least as an adult, though I ran in high school), and a first-time poster though I’ve been reading the site for months. Anyway, I’ve done about five 5ks and an 8k this year. The next thing I would like to try is a big 10-miler in my city in May 09. My questions: First, is this a realistic goal for me? My log isn’t on this site yet (I know, I know… I am hoping to move it over soon). In the meantime, the short version is that I started with run/walk in May, then “graduated” to all running. I now do about 12 miles per week on average. Not much, I know, and certainly not enough to run a 10-miler yet, but I wanted to build my miles gradually to avoid injury. So, how many mpw would you say is necessary to prepare to run a 10 miler, and could I reasonably build to that by May ’09? My goal would be more about running well and finishing the race, less about achieving a particular time since I have no experience at this distance whatsoever. Also, what sort of long run would you recommend to eventually reach in training for a 10 miler? Would I want to aim just to work my way up to 10 miles? Or is it better to train past the race distance, say, up to 12 miles for a long run? I have mostly run 5ks and generally aim to do at least one run per week longer than that race distance, say, 5 miles. But I’m not sure if this is the right approach for a newbie attempt at a 10 miler. Thanks for any ideas you have. I have already learned a lot—and also been entertained—by reading your posts on this great site.
    Purdey

Self anointed title