Beginners and Beyond

MONDAILIES, It's Monday Morning, Get Up Offa That Thing! (Read 44 times)

DavePNW

For 600 meters I set my Garmin at 0.37 and use this cool site here.

Converting units is not my issue, TYVM. But as far as I can tell my Garmin only allows me to set intervals in increments of 0.05, so I have my choice of 0.35 & 0.40. (Will be the same problem when doing 1000's.) Unless I am missing something. MTA: it's a 210.

Dave

happylily

That's what intrigued me about Hanson and why I wanted to try it this time around.  I don't think you need 18-20 milers if your base is strong most of the weeks.

I feel I can sleep on my desk until 4:30pm.  I should have just stayed home!

That's what I keep hearing. But after my May marathon, I only ran one 18 miler in the weeks that followed. The rest were nothing longer than 15. Then I took a whole week off. When I started training again in July, with Hanson, they were 15 mile LRs at first, now they are 16. Well, I'm not sure why, but they felt damn hard, even though my weeks were in the 65-70 mile range. Like I have lost the mental ability to make it through a LR. This is why I forced myself to run 18 yesterday. I wanted to make sure that I still had the mental discipline. I found out that I do, but barely. I don't like that feeling.

PRs: Boston Marathon, 3:27, April 15th 2013

Cornwall Half-Marathon, 1:35, April 27th 2013

18 marathons, 18 BQs since 2010

happylily

One of my nieces will start kindergarten this fall. There was a boy in her preschool whom she adored. Not too long ago, she told me that they were done. Stifling laughter, I managed to ask her what happened. "Well, Auntie, I was thinking.." (At this point I hit mute and cracked up. But, because she's *my* niece, it got better.) "I've known him for two years. He hasn't changed. I'm afraid that he'll never grow up."

I still don't have the heart to tell her that not much will change over the next fifty years.

OMG. LOL...

Docket_Rocket

Former Bad Ass